Quiz: Sorting The Wheat

“Gluten-free, sounds healthy!” If you’ve said these words at a restaurant or grocery store, you are definitely not alone. But it’s not quite that simple. Yes, if you or a loved one has a gluten allergy or even a gluten sensitivity, you’ll need to look for that gluten-free label. But if not, cutting out gluten could rob you of the health benefits of whole grains. Take out quiz to learn more:

1. Gluten is the general name for ____ found in wheat, barley and rye.

A. Carbohydrates
B. Proteins
C. Oils
D. Minerals

2. People diagnosed with celiac disease MUST stay away from gluten for the rest of their lives.

A. True
B. False

3. A person with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity can still eat _____.

A. Rice
B. Dried beans
C. Soy beans
D. All of the above

4. Oats are naturally gluten-free, but you should still discuss with your doctor whether or not you can include them in a gluten-free diet.

A. True
B. False

5. To be extra safe, a person with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity should skip the ____ at a buffet or family dinner.

A. White meats like turkey or chicken
B. Mashed potatoes
C. Gravy
D. Fruit

6. The only potential source of gluten is food.

A. True
B. False


1. B. Proteins. Gluten can also be found in triticale, which is a cross between wheat and rye.

2. A. True. Even a small amount can trigger a reaction that will cause damage to the small intestine. Over time, that damage can develop into serious diseases including lymphoma.

3. D. All of the above. These foods don't contain wheat gluten and so are safe to eat. In addition, flours made from rice and corn grains are available for baking and cooking.

4. A. True. Unless the oats are labeled gluten-free, they may have been cross-contaminated if they were grown side-by-side with wheat, barley or rye. Also, oats have a separate protein that can have a similar effect as gluten on people with celiac disease.

5. C. Gravy. Condiments, dressings, sauces and gravy may seem like they would be gluten-free but some use sources like wheat flour as a thickening agent.

6. B. False. Though rare, nonfood items such as medicines, supplements and hygiene products may contain traces of gluten. The likely source will be wheat starch. If starch is listed in the ingredients, you may want to investigate further online to determine if the product is safe for you. 


Learn more about celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity here

Source: The Health Library at www.sjcsh.org. 

Smart Living Sign Up

Get the latest Smart Living instantly! Sign up to receive your Smart Living magazine digitally. 

How can we help you?